International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

Nominations are sought for the Young Scientist Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors. Two prizes are awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications, made by early career scientists with, at the application deadline of Dec. 31, 2017, a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruption) following the award of the PhD. The prizes will be awarded during the 34th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors to be held in Montpellier, France from July 29 to August 3, 2018. The prizes include commemorative IUPAP medals, 1000 Euros, and the opportunity to present the prize work during a plenary awards session at ICPS34.

Nomination procedure (as at: http://www.iupap.org)

Nominees for the Young Scientist Prizes must be nominated by a senior member of the research community. Self-nominations are not accepted. A nomination for the prizes must contain:

- A cover letter of not more than 1000 words by the nominator evaluating the nominee's contributions to semiconductor physics and identifying the specific work to be recognized (up to 4 publications);
- A citation for the prize (not more than 25 words);
- A short CV of the nominee (not more than 3 pages);
- A list of publications;
- Two further letters of endorsement of the nomination, at least one of which is not from a former supervisor of the nominee.

The nomination must be prepared in English and combined into a single consolidated PDF file, which is to be sent as an email attachment to the IUPAP-C8 Commission Chair at: <u>haug@nano.uni-hannover.de</u>, with a copy to the Commission Secretary at: <u>ydkim@khu.ac.kr</u>.

The deadline for submissions of nominations is December 31, 2017.

Selection procedure

The winners of the competition will be selected by the members of the IUPAP C8 Commission.

Previous Winners

2016 Kimberly Dick Thelander and Samuel Stranks

- 2014 Xiaodong Xu and Rahul Nair
- 2012 Alberto Amo and Young Woo Son
- 2010 Pablo Jarillo-Herrero and Yuanbo Zhang