Workshop sobre The Heisenberg Model: Past, Present and Future

July 20th 27th, 2009
ICCMP, Brasilia

Alvaro Ferraz (Brasilia, Brazil)
George Japaridze (Tbilisi, Georgia)
Henrik Johannesson (Gothenburg, Sweden)

The scope of the workshop and general information:

It is now more than 80 years ago since Werner Heisenberg published his
seminal paper in Zeitzchrift fr Physik on his spin-exchange Hamiltonian.
Notwithstanding the long history of the model, it remains a pivot for
research in magnetism and correlated systems, with particular importance for
the study of low-dimensional spin systems. The aim of the workshop is to
bring together leading experts to review and discuss recent advances in the
research on low-dimensional spin systems and related problems. Topics will
include the physics of spin chains and ladders, 2D spin structures,
frustration effects, effects from impurities and disorder, entanglement in
spin systems, and related issues rooted in the Heisenberg model and its
offsprings. An important goal of the workshop is to transfer knowledge
between the traditional realm of low-dimensional spin systems and the
emerging fields of nanomagnetism and spin-based quantum computing.

The workshop will take place at the International Center of Condensed Matter
Physics (ICCMP) in Brasilia. It will start at 9:00 on Monday, July 20th.
There will be no parallel sessions. It is expected that participants will
arrive in Brasilia on Sunday, July 19th.

We ask all potential participants to fill in the on-line application form.
The deadline for applications is July 12th, 2009. The deadline for
applications for a financial support is July 05th, 2009.

Lodging, meal and transportation:
The ICCMP will provide transportation for participants from their hotel(s)
in the center of Brasilia to ICCMP and back, as well as to the restaurant at
lunch time, and back. More detailed information will be given later.

We are planning to publish proceedings of the workshop. Details will be
given later.

For general questions (program, schedule, financial support, proceedings,
etc.), please contact Prof. Alvaro Ferraz ( For
technical questions (payment of fees, lodging, travel details, etc.), please
contact Ms. Ana Claudia Vargas (

Invited speakers (to be confirmed)

Akira Furusaki (Condensed Matter Theory Laboratory, Riken, Wako, Japan)

Alexander Chernyshev (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of
California, Irvine, USA)

Alexander Zamolodchikov ( Department of Physics and Astronomy, Rutgers
University, Piscataway, USA)

Alexei Kolezhuk (Institute of Theoretical Physics, RWTH, Aachen, Germany)

Alexei Tsvelik (CMPMS Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton,

Anders Sandvik (Department of Physics, University of Boston, Boston, USA)

Andreas Honecker (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Gttingen,
Gttingen, Germany)

Andreas Klmper (Institute of Physics, University of Wuppertal, Wuppertal,

Andrey Chubukov (Department of Physics, University of Wisconsin-Madison,
Wisconsin, USA)

Antnio Pires (Department of Physics, Federal University of Minas Gerais,
Belo Horizonte, Brazil)

Armando Aligia (Centro Atomico Bariloche, Bariloche, Argentina)

Ashwin Vishwanath (Department of Physics, University of California,
Berkeley, USA)

Bella Lake (Deaprtment Magnetism and Superconductivity of Quantum Materials,
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin for Material and Energy, Berlin, Germany)

Chris Hamer (School of Physics, The University of New South Wales, Sydney,

Christian Batista (Theoretical Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los
Alamos, USA)

Collin Broholm (Department of Physics and Astronomy, The Johns Hopkins
University, Baltimore, USA)
Daniel Cabra (Theoretical Physics Laboratory, University L. Pasteur,
Strasbourg, France)

Daniel Khomskii (Department of Physics, University of Cologne, Cologne,

Daniel Loss (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Basel,
Basel, Switzerland)

Daniel Mattis (Department of Physics, University of Utah, Salt Lake City,

Didier Poilblanc (Laboratory of Theoretical Physics, University Paul
Sabatier, Toulouse, France)

Dionys Baeriswyl (Department of Physcis, University of Fribourg, Fribourg,

Dmitri Ivanov (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Ecole Polytechnique
Fdrale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland)

Eduardo Miranda (Department of Condensed Matter Physics, State University of
Campinas, Campinas, Brazil)

Fabian Essler (The Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University
of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom)

Francisco Alcaraz (Departamento de Fsica e Cincia dos Materiais, Instituto
de Fsica de So Carlos, So Carlos, Brazil)

Frdric Mila (Institute of Physics Phenomena Theory, Ecole Polytechnique
Fdrale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland)

Gabriel Aeppli (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University College
London, London, United Kingdom)

Ganapathy Baskaran (The Institute of Mathematical Science, Chennai, India)

George Jackeli (Department of Physics, Max-Planck-Institute of
Festkrperforschung, Stuttgart, Germany)

Holger Frahm (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Hannover,
Hannover, Germany)

Ian Affleck (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of British
Columbia, Vancouver, Canada)

Jeno Solyom (Research Institute for Solid State Physics, Budapest, Hungary)

Joel Helton (Department of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology,
Cambridge, USA)
Johannes Richter (Department of Physics, Otto-von-Guericke-University,
Magdeburg, Germany)

Karen Hallberg (Centro Atomico Bariloche, Bariloche, Argentina)

Lorenzo Venuti (Department of Physics, INFM, Bologna, Italy)

Michail Zhitomirskii (Department of Mathematics, Technion-Israel Institute
of Technology, Haifa, Israel)

Minoru Takahashi (Institute for Solid State Physics, University of Tokyo,
Chiba, Japan)

Natan Andrei (Department of Physics and Astronomy, The State University of
New Jersey, Piscataway, USA)

Oleg Starykh (, Department of Physics, University of Utah, Salt Lake City,

Paul Wiegmann (Department of Physics, University of Chicago, Chicago, USA)

Pedro Sacramento (Departamento de Fsica and CFIF, Universidade Tcnica de
Lisboa, Lisboa, Portugal)

Rajiv Singh (Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, USA)

Reinhard Noack (Department of Physics, University of Marburg, Marburg,

Roland Hayn (Faculty of Science and Technology, Marseille, France)

Sebastian Eggert (Department of Physics, University of Kaiserslautern,
Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Sergey Lukyanov (Rutgers University Department of Physics and Astronomy,
Piscataway, USA)

Toshiya Hikihara (Division of Physics, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan)

Vladimir Gritsev (Department of Physcis, University of Fribourg, Fribourg,

Vladimir Korepin (Department of Physics and Astronomy, Stony Brook
University, Stony Brook, USA)

Xiaoguang Wang (Hangzhou)

Yu-Peng Wang (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing,

Postagem: 16/10/2008